Upcoming Classes

Please find the attached flyers for the upcoming classes at the bottom of this post.

  • PSC/Lifeboatman
    1. This class is offered in the fall and spring in Ketchikan and Seward
  • Fast Rescue Boat  
  1. This class is offered in the fall and spring in Ketchikan
  • RORO Crowd and Crisis
  1. This class is offered in the fall/winter/spring in Ketchikan and in the spring in Seward and Juneau

These class flyers and the 2014-2015 AMHS Training Department Schedule (attached) are posted on the AMHS Learning Portal http://amhslearningportal.alaska.gov/ under the topic heading “Latest Updates” and/or under the topic headings with SE and SW classes.  They are also posted under the topic headings for PSC/Lifeboatman, Fast Rescue Boat, and RORO Course Information.

Check the AMHS Learning Portal periodically for new class flyers and information

Special Union Nomination Meetings

Greetings Sisters and Brothers of the Alaska Region,

It’s election time again for our union. All offices are open to full book members in good standing for the past two years. In the Alaska region we will be holding special meetings on Sept 10th, 2 pm in Juneau and Sept 11th, 1:30 pm in Ketchikan. Both meetings are for the purpose of nominating members for all open positions that we have in the Alaska region and National offices. Being a democratic body we urge all of you that qualify to run for office.

National President, National Secretary/Treasurer, Regional Director and Patrolman positions, along with all seats on our E-Board are needing to be filled once again for the next three years.

Our National Constitution http://ibupak.org/wp-content/uploads/2013_Constitution-as-amended1.pdf describes the job duties of both the Regional Director and Patrolman on pages 45-49, and National president and National Secretary/Treasurer on pages 23-28. Our  Alaska-By-Laws http://ibupak.org/wp-content/uploads/Alaska-By-Laws-3-13-13.pdf describe all regional positions up for election, including Chairman, vice-chairman and twelve committee members. Please take the time to read the Constitution and the By-Laws and it will describe in detail what is expected of you during your oath of office.

Please know that you are the union and that you are the ones who need to step up and be part of your futures that lay ahead of you. We challenge each and everyone one of you to become more involved in your union and to run for one of the many seats that need filling. Over these past 2 ½ years we have heard many of your issues and we have asked you to step up and be the one who will give direction to how this Union is run, whether though a regional or national position.


Yours in Solidarity, Ricky Deising

Regional Director.

Inlandboatmen’s Union of the Pacific Alaska Region

907-790-9644 office

907-790-9646 fax



MM&P Job Action Called Off

There will be NO job action this Saturday 8/30/14 by the MM&P that would cause any of our members in the IBU to not be at work. We welcome the news that MM&P has offered an LOA to keep the conversation open and we wish their team all the best

The State and Masters, Mates and Pilots (MM&P) have entered into a Letter of Agreement (LOA) that extends the expired contract as well as cares for negotiations on a new three-year contract covering July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2017.

This LOA extends the negotiation period, avoiding the risk of a job action by MM&P members. We at the IBU are proud to show our Solidarity to our Sisters & Brothers of the other unions throughout the great state of Alaska.

Tentative Agreement Approved

Greetings Brothers and Sisters,

The TA Ballot count has been completed and approved.


Yes – 119             No- 12


Yes – 96                No – 47


Yes – 18                No – 9


Yes – 41                No – 3

Voided Ballots

Purser – 4            Steward – 1       Engine – 1 Deck – 1

Total Votes



Thank you to everyone who supported the contract.

Remember an injury to one is an injury to all.

Yours in Solidarity,


Ricky Deising

Regional Director

Inlandboatmen’s Union of the Pacific Alaska Region

Office 907-790-9644

Fax 907-790-9646



Greetings All,

Please find the nomination forms and acceptance forms for your nominations meetings posted below.

Member’s can be nominated at the meeting but must have an acceptance form filled out before the end of the meeting (it does not have to be this form but a note that says they accept and what position)

Remember also that you do not have to limit how many people run for delegate but it will be the top two or however many your region elects and it’s better to have more people run in case someone drops out we have a replacement. If they haven’t been elected  any more then no  one can fill a position if your delegates can’t attend.

If a member submits only an acceptance form the chair will then nominate them for the office at the meeting.

Acceptance of Nomination Form

2014 Nomination Form

Nomination and Acceptance Form_Combined